Copper Waters - A New Zealand Mystery (Annalisse Series Book 4) by Marlene M. Bell

Stolen Obsession book 1 review HERE
Spent Identity book 2 review HERE
Scattered legacy book 3 review HERE

Synopsis -

Annalisse Drury and Alec Zavos find themselves on opposing sides when an ex-lover from Alec’s past introduces him to his alleged son. With Alec distracted and their future engagement in limbo, Annalisse accepts a key to her dream cottage—situated on a picturesque sheep station on South Island, New Zealand—only this time, she travels alone.

But not long after her arrival she’s confronted by two peculiar deaths—either accidental, or the deliberate acts of a psychopath.

Local investigators are closing the cases too quickly and want Annalisse to exit the country before she reveals the town’s darkest secrets.

Will she return to Alec, or sacrifice their future together to expose it all?

Review - 

In Copper Waters, Annalisse and Alec have been at odds for several months now. When Ethan, the young farm hand who helped her mother in the past, reaches out from New Zealand with an invitation, Annalisse decides to take a solo trip, hoping the distance will give them both time to sort out their thoughts.  When she gets on the plane, however, there is a surprise. Alec is worried, so sent his detective and best friend to accompany her. 

Per usual, nothing stays quiet and relaxing long.  On the way to the cottage they will be staying at, the local older man sent to drive them from the airport pulls over and gets out, leaving them to go on alone.  After a short stop, they come upon the scene of an accident. Turns out they know the victim. Their driver has been deliberately run down. So much for a relaxing vacation.

Ethan ends up being too busy to show them the sheep station, and the manager does a poor job. They leave, only to find out later he died shortly there after. That's two deaths and the local force doesn't seem to be making headway.  Annalisse can't walk away, even though almost losing her life in her search for answers.

Alec shows up unexpectedly, and the three work together to find the answers, hoping to leave quickly once they do. Danger is coming for them. Will they solve the murders before it arrives? Copper Waters is another fast paced murder mystery with lots of twist and turns. 

Buy the Book: Amazon

Meet the Author - 
Fab author interview HERE

Marlene M. Bell is an eclectic mystery writer, artist, photographer, and she raises sheep in beautiful East Texas with her husband, Gregg, three cats and a flock of horned Dorset sheep.

The Annalisse series has received numerous honors including the Independent Press Award for Best Mystery (Spent Identity,) and FAPA— Florida Author’s President’s Gold Award for two other installments, (Stolen Obsession and Scattered Legacy.) Her mysteries with a touch of romance are found at She also offers the first of her children's picture books, Mia and Nattie: One Great Team! Based on true events from the Bell’s ranch. The simple text and illustrations are a touching tribute of compassion and love between a little girl and her lamb.

connect with the author: website ~ website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ instagram ~ goodreads


  1. It's great that you were able to read the series books in order where they're fresh in your mind. Thank you for reading and reviewing the four installments. There's more to come in book five. Thanks, Marilyn!


Post a Comment