Spent Identity (Annalisse Series Book 2) by Marlene M. Bell

Stolen Obsession book 1 review HERE
Scattered Legacy book 3 review HERE
Copper Waters book 4 review HERE

Synopsis - 

Antiquities appraiser Annalisse Drury drives to her family farm in upstate New York to consult with Aunt Kate about her troubled relationship with Greek tycoon, Alec Zavos. When Annalisse arrives, she learns the beloved farm she expects to inherit is for sale.

​That same morning, they find a stranger's body decaying in the barn. Then her aunt vanishes.

In Spent Identity, Annalisse and Alec join forces for the second time. They must find the mastermind behind her aunt's abduction before Kate's health issues worsen. Was the corpse in the barn a coincidence or a warning? The clock ticks for Annalisse to find her aunt and repair what she has left with the man she loves.

Review - 

In book two of Bell's Annalisse series, all is not well in paradise.  Annalisse heads home to her Aunt Kate's farm looking for relationship advice.  Alec, her boyfriend, is gone much of the time and often cancels on their plans. She is quickly distracted to learn that the farm she loved might be sold by her aunt's son, and even more disturbing, a dead body has been found in the barn.

Annalisse's anxiety hits a new high when a day later her aunt mysteriously disappears into thin area. As she looks for answers with Alec, they are assisted by a private investigator Alec brought in, as well as his body guard. Everyone comes under suspicion - Ethan the farmhand and Kate's two children are at the top of the suspect list. Then it starts to get personal. Annalisse receives several suspicious gifts and notes. Then  she is kidnapped and barely manages to escape. There are hints that secrets from the past may be the source of the current danger.

Slowly but surely the clues add up, and each step forward leads to the next.  The question becomes, will they be able to find Kate before she comes to harm, or after several near misses, before they come to harm. The plot is twisted and the end unexpected. 

Buy the book: Amazon ~ Audible

Meet the Author -
Fab author interview HERE!

Marlene M. Bell is an eclectic mystery writer, artist, photographer, and she raises sheep in beautiful East Texas with her husband, Gregg, three cats and a flock of horned Dorset sheep.

The Annalisse series has received numerous honors including the Independent Press Award for Best Mystery (Spent Identity,) and FAPA— Florida Author’s President’s Gold Award for two other installments, (Stolen Obsession and Scattered Legacy.) Her mysteries with a touch of romance are found at marlenembell.com. She also offers the first of her children's picture books, Mia and Nattie: One Great Team! Based on true events from the Bell’s ranch. The simple text and illustrations are a touching tribute of compassion and love between a little girl and her lamb.

connect with the author: website ~ website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ instagram ~ goodreads


  1. Thanks so much for your review of Spent Identity, Book Two in the Annalisse series. I'm happy you've joined the iReads Book Two featuring Copper Waters, Book Four.

    1. A pleasure to read the whole series. I always try to start at the beginning.


Post a Comment