Scattered Legacy (Annalisse Series Book 3) by Marlene M. Bell

Stolen Obsession book 1 review HERE
Spent Identity book 2 review HERE
Copper Waters book 4 review HERE

Synopsis -
To outsiders, the relationship between Manhattan antiquities assessor Annalisse Drury and sports car magnate Alec Zavos must look carefree and glamorous. In reality, it’s a love affair regularly punctuated by treasure hunting, action-packed adventure, and the occasional dead body.

When Alec schedules an overseas trip to show Annalisse his mother's birthplace in Bari, Italy, he squeezes in the high-stakes business of divesting his family’s international corporation. But things go terribly wrong as murder makes its familiar reappearance in their lives – and this time it’s Alec’s disgraced former CFO who’s the main suspect.

​Accompanied by friend and detective Bill Drake, Annalisse and Alec find themselves embroiled in a behind-closed-doors conspiracy that threatens the reputation and legacy of Alec’s late father – linking him to embezzlement, extortion, and the dirty business of the Sicilian Mafia. The search for the truth sends the trio straight into riddles, secrets, and an historic set of rosary beads. Annalisse leads Alec toward a discovery that is unthinkable, and events that will change their futures forever.

Scattered Legacy is the third in Marlene M. Bell’s thrilling Annalisse series, which weaves romance, crime, and historical mystery into addictive tales to instantly captivate fans of TV show Bones or Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code.

Review -

In book three, the author continues the same fast pace and constant danger that are a trademark of this series.  Alex is trying to sell his father's company so he can focus on developing his veterinary practice, but there is a glitch.  A rag mag has published a story that his father began his business with money stolen from the company he previously worked for. That has placed the sale on hold.

Alec, Annalisse and Bill (a friend and detective) head off to Italy. There are several goals: to enjoy the beauty of the area, to put out the media speculation by digging for the truth, and to complete the sale of the company.  Just before leaving, Alec's mother Gen gives Annalise a very old, large rosary with cryptic instructions to find the nun who gave it to her. There is something Gen is holding back, something that will end up threatening the trio while abroad. 

What follows is a twisted dangerous plot filled with unknown characters (are they good or bad), constant danger, the mafia, a nun, and several deaths. Can they solve the mystery of the rosary, discover the secret Gen is hiding, solve the truth of the media accusations, and sell the company - all while not losing their lives.  You'll have to read to find out. 

Buy the Book: Amazon

Meet the Author -
Fab author interview HERE!

Marlene M. Bell is an eclectic mystery writer, artist, photographer, and she raises sheep in beautiful East Texas with her husband, Gregg, three cats and a flock of horned Dorset sheep.

The Annalisse series has received numerous honors including the Independent Press Award for Best Mystery (Spent Identity,) and FAPA— Florida Author’s President’s Gold Award for two other installments, (Stolen Obsession and Scattered Legacy.) Her mysteries with a touch of romance are found at She also offers the first of her children's picture books, Mia and Nattie: One Great Team! Based on true events from the Bell’s ranch. The simple text and illustrations are a touching tribute of compassion and love between a little girl and her lamb.

connect with the author: website ~ website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ instagram ~ goodreads


  1. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing Scattered Legacy. This installment is filled with intrigue and solving many mysteries. Don't worry, though. The ending ties everything into a bow with a surprise climax for Anna and Alec in the next book, Copper Waters. Don't miss this unlikely couple as they work through their relationship and a few dead bodies along the way ~

    1. I love how the books flow along as their relationship grows and changes.

  2. Thanks for sharing your review, the book sounds great

    1. I suggest reading the whole series in order. That way you'll see the characters develop.


Post a Comment